top of page

Proper Flag Etiquette


Today is June 14th - Flag Day. I come from a military family and am a veteran myself, so our national flag means a great deal to me, and I love seeing the Stars and Stripes displayed everywhere from Memorial Day to Labor Day.

But when I see them displayed improperly, it actually saddens my heart. And here's why: It doesn't take much effort to display our national symbol proudly. In my humble opinion, if one can't be bothered to display her properly, then please, don't hang her up at all.

Here are some tips on proper flag display, according to the Flag Code, found at USFlag.org:

  • When the flag is displayed from a staff projecting from a window, balcony or a building, the union should be at the peak of the staff.

  • The flag should not be displayed on days when the weather is inclement, unless it's an all-weather flag.

  • Display the flag only from sunrise to sunset, but it may be displayed at night - if illuminated.

  • When the flag is lowered, no part of it should touch the ground or any other object; it should be received by waiting hands and arms.

  • To store the flag, fold it neatly and ceremoniously.

By the way, old, tired flags should be disposed of properly also and can be dropped off at any American Legion or VFW Post, nationwide.

Flags are sacred and should be treated as such. My grandfather gave his life for this country and everyone in it, and so willingly. His flag was taken and never given to my grandmother, who was also a Marine and proud to be one. She deserved that flag, he was her husband and she his widow with a six month old baby girl he only held in his arms while on a very short leave to meet her. That same flag, should now be in my mother's arms. (I'm working on correcting that situation) :)

Gotta flag? Go on, display it! Proudly - The Right Way! Thank you!

>^,,^<


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page