top of page

Little Things


Christmas is a hard time of year for many. This year was another tough one for us. In some ways, it was a lot tougher than last year, but there was also so many blessings this year, it is incredible. I keep a notebook year round and write down one thing that was a blessing that day. Sometimes, it was simply, "We woke up on the right side of the grass," or "we are disabled, but we are able to care for ourselves." Little things, yes, but it is the little things in life that get us through.

Today was my grandmothers birthday and while she was a major blessing in my life, it was the little things she taught me about life that mean the most. I doubt she even knew just how much she touched my life, but I saw firsthand how many others' lives she touched in such ways. She was kind and loving and always doing things for others to bring joy into their lives. She volunteered for so many different organizations, but she did so to take the focus off her own problems and in doing so, she got through many difficult life challenges.

I find joy in giving to others. It brings me tremendous joy when the recipient is appreciative. This year, I made nearly all my Christmas gifts and got them all wrapped and mailed by the first week of December. Now don't start hating on me, I determined last year I was going to enjoy Christmas this year, so this schedule was necessary and I started in January. We have excruciatingly long winters here in Idaho and I cannot stand to simply sit in my recliner watching the boob tube. Killed two birds with one stone and all gifts were tailored to the recipient. This worked out so well, I'm repeating the process for next year, with one major addition - finishing my novel this winter and sending the manuscript off by spring. Next winter, the next book in the series and Lord willing, I will get a publishing contract. Summers are to be spent in the garden and at classic car shows, as well as exploring the woods.

I have faltered here with my blog this year and am going to restructure that as well in order to accomplish my writing goals. I will be posting a monthly blog instead of a weekly one. If I am managing well enough, I may go back to weekly, but I do not want to commit to that again and fail. One goal I set for myself this year was to finish the writing course I started in February. I am now working on that last assignment and am focusing on finishing it this week so that I can meet that personal goal.

So, for now, I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a blessed New Year! >^,,^<

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page