top of page

Answered Prayer


Answered prayer can come in the tiniest packages and at the most unexpected times. Have you ever prayed for something and had the answer be, "No?" Sometimes it is that simple, even though it can be hard to understand. It is quite disappointing in my experience, when the answer to heartfelt prayer is no. We think we know what we want and what is best for us, but in actuality, we really don't. I'm not going to get on my soapbox here, but let's be honest. I know I'm not the only one who, in hindsight, has been relieved their prayer was answered in the negative.

We lost our beloved sixteen year old feline back in August during the garage build, and felt a hole in our hearts the size of Texas. During our grieving, I thanked God for giving us such a loving soul to care for, for such a long time - she was an amazing blessing with her love, her energy, her antics and her simple presence in the room. She was indeed, our Miss Angel and the Queen of our home.

I knew I would get a kitten in the future and in my own wisdom, I asked for specifics in the next cat that came into our household. I made a list of my wants: a Blue Point Siamese, female (since I'm the only one in the house now), with a loving, playful personality and spirit available around my birthday. It was a BIG prayer. I live in a tiny rural town of about a thousand people, so fulfilling those specifics were a slim shot in the dark. But I know my God. He's a God of miracles, no matter the size. He saved me from cancer twenty-six years ago, so I left my request with Him and knew if it was His will, it would happen. My husband and I continued to grieve for our Angel and pressed on with life.

Then one day while in line at the grocery store I overheard a gentleman telling another about a batch of kittens he was trying to find homes for. When he was finished, I inquired about them and if there were any like the one I wanted. He thought there was and asked his wife when she returned to the line. She said there was one in the litter of nine that looked like the kind I was after. I got her number and called as soon as I got my groceries put away.

When I got to their home, I looked around and soaked in the cleanliness of the property with a sigh of relief. I had one adult cat and my service dog in my home and I needed to be careful who I brought in. I knocked on the door and was greeted with the lady holding a tiny, Siamese kitten, wrapped in a towel. It looked like the right breed. I have had both kinds of Siamese in the past and I was after the mellow disposition of the Blue Point.

I took the kitten from her and held it so I could look it in the eyes. Nice, clear and alert. I held it to my face and asked it how it was. It nuzzled my chin. That was it. I tried to get a good look at the sex, but kitty was too wiggly to see well. Oh well, it didn't really matter, did it?

Turns out, kitty is indeed a male. We watched him for a few days to see his personality come out and to figure out an appropriate name. Everything we thought of didn't fit. Then one night, while discussing something else, I spit out, "Loki!"

My husband turned and looked at me with a smile. That was it and perfectly fitting. Being huge Marvel fans, Loki is the trickster, mischief filled, half-God brother of Thor.

My little Loki is a mixture of energy, springing all over this house so quickly he looks like a cotton ball with a tail streaking down the hall and very difficult to catch. He is also super trusting, super playful and incredibly loving. We have had him for a few weeks now and he is litter-box trained, loving the kitty condo to play on and terrorize, knows his name and comes when he is called. Now if I can get him to understand to retract the claws while playing with humans, it would be most appreciated. To Loki, everything is a toy and must be played with and chewed on for worthiness.

The house is finally settling down and becoming peaceful after a nightmare of a summer. Harley is playing with Loki and Loki is finally starting to give Sampson the respect the oldest cat in the house deserves. Ah, peace, I've certainly missed you.

Now here are the holidays! :D

Many blessings to all those who read this. Cherish any time you can get with everyone you love. I wish you all a blessed Thanksgiving and safe travels.

>^,,^<

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page