top of page

Resolutions


For me, the New Year always brings internal reflection and what I can do to improve myself in the coming year. I've shared before how I always handle resolutions, but this year, I'd like to urge anyone fifty or older, to put just one thing at the top of your resolution list this year: screenings. I know, I know, nobody likes to talk about health screenings and how important they are… yada, yada, yada. BUT, and hear me out here, there is one FACT that got my attention recently after being sent for a second colonoscopy only three and a half years from the previous one; 60% of colon cancer deaths can be PREVENTED by a simple colonoscopy. Sixty percent - WOW! Can you hear me now?

Oh, I know what you're thinking; but I don't have time to go through all that, I don't have health insurance, or my personal favorite and the one I used… it's such an assault to my body. Yes, it is a bit of an assault on the body. One must starve oneself and the cleansing process can be a nightmare. However, I can tell you from personal experience that there is a right way and a wrong way to go through that cleansing process. I highly recommend the Gatorade one and not the one that requires you to drink a gallon of nastiness then leaves you writhing, doubled over rolling on the floor in unbelievable pain thinking you are going to die. Think I'm being over dramatic? Have ya done one yet? The cleansing process is indeed the worst part of the whole process, but it doesn't have to hurt. Not like that!

The simple fact is that polyps are quite common in folks over fifty. During the colonoscopy they are removed, sent to the lab for testing, then you're good for ten more years if the results come back ok. I recently learned that if more than two polyps are discovered, that makes one a high risk, which in turn, makes your children at high risk.

My mind keeps going back to that sixty percent. Such high odds in our favor and so many brush off the screening simply because they don't want to. How sad is that? A couple of days of inconvenience is too much to ask of some people. But to those people, I ask you, How inconvenient will it be to miss the smiles, laughter and hugs of your children and grandchildren? Can you hear me now?

I urge you to put that health screening at the top of your resolution list right now - yes, right now! That is one item you can actually cross off as having done when you look at your list later in the year. And when you hear that tinkling laughter of sheer delight coming from your family members, you'll be even more glad you did and wonder why you resisted having it done in the first place. Remember, it is said that on your deathbed the only regrets you have, are the things you didn't do. Do you have it written down on your to do list yet? Yes, I'm nagging, but I care - deeply. Sixty percent of colon cancer deaths could be prevented with this one screening!

Can you hear me now? >^,,^<


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page