top of page

Love


Love. Love means many different things to different people. True, unconditional love runs much deeper than even those very words mean. Some think it's like first love; you know, the fluffy kind of puppy love where everything is new and exciting. To others, love is a four letter word; in the context of a swear word. The fact of the matter is, it is both. And so much more. Much deeper than most can even begin to understand. I don't mean that in a negative way or to put anyone down. What I mean is this: true, unconditional love is so rare that most people have never seen it. Or they've seen it, but do not recognize what it truly is because they've never actually experienced it. I can say that I have not only seen it, but I experience it on a daily basis.

I am married to someone who is not perfect and is not part of the "pretty club" (I have another blog coming up on that topic). However, he is absolutely perfect to me because of the way he treats me. When I look at him, I see total love in his eyes. He is my best friend; we talk about anything and everything. We have had more than our share of struggles, but we talk it out until we figure it out - together. We do not take separate vacations and cannot understand those who do. We have not spent one night apart since 2005. We were divorced for a little while before that until we each got our own heads together and made a decision. That is another aspect of love: a decision.

Love has many facets and is sparkly like a diamond. Love can also hurt badly and damage the heart, just like a diamond forever mars the surface it scratches. It can make you hurt so badly you simply want to crawl under a rock and forget the world even exists. I've had people I love and care about just simply walk out of my life with no explanation. And those people supposedly cared about me? How do you leave someone twisting in the wind wondering why?

But true, unconditional love is exactly as 1 Corinthians 13, verses 4-7 describes it: patient, and kind. It does not envy or boast and it is not proud. It is not rude or self-seeking. Love is not easily angered nor does it keep any record of wrongs. It does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth. Love always protects, always trusts, always hopes and always perseveres.

The three most important words in that entire passage are in verse 8: LOVE NEVER FAILS. Three very powerful words. I can say with all honesty that my husband is the only one I have ever known that has actually shown me every aspect of love as described in the Bible.

Like I said, my husband is not perfect. He upsets me sometimes and I upset him at times. At the root of our relationship though, is our friendship - and that comes first. And that means talking to each other. Openly. Honestly. We all are human and we each have feelings. Feelings that deserved to be heard and considered. Just as you would with your best friend. Why should we treat our life mate any less than that? My husband is my soul-mate and we knew it the second we touched. We were friends first and that relationship always comes first.

So be very careful how you treat others. If you say you care, then show it. Every way you can. Every day. Life is too short.

To my husband: C - I love you with all my heart and soul even more than I ever thought I could. Together, forever, Baby, heart and soul. Here's to 25 more years together!

And J - I really would like to understand. I love you. Take care of yourself.

>^,,^<


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page