top of page

New Buildings


This will be my last blog sitting at my desk, looking out my window. The new garage will block out my entire window. I am not liking this new change, but new buildings represent change, new chapters and new beginnings.

My husband and I are in the process of watching a long time dream of a garage big enough to store our truck and camper in to get them out of the harsh Idaho weather. This is a stressful and exhausting situation. I never knew quite so many decisions have to be made. Not that I'm complaining; I just had no idea how many details accomplishing this dream will take. Not to mention the coordination and cooperation of several different entities. Now, add to the mix that it is the middle of summer and every contractor is booked through September. Fortunately, I'm quite tenacious and didn't give up calling on every recommendation I could get my hands on. I think I actually called at least twenty contractors before I found one that was available that I could work with.

It is a very different process up here in Idaho than it is in California. For example, building permits in California are outrageous. In my tiny town, they are based on the cost of the building, not a set fee. Our inspector is easy going and jovial, not a stickler with a bad attitude. What a difference attitude makes!

Next week, the noise and the mess begin and my lovely view from my office window disappears. I will certainly miss this view, but, I can make this change for the better. I am looking forward to this new change. I think I'll move my office upstairs after I paint the spare room up there. >^,,^<


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page