top of page

Memorial Day


For Memorial Day, I'd like to share something I saw on a wall in a military clinic while I was serving on active duty. It touched my heart then and still does today, although there has been much more bloodshed than what is mentioned here. The author is anonymous. Remember.

A Flag to Remember

Hello - Remember me?

Some people call me Old Glory, others call me the Star Spangled Banner: but whatever they call me, I am your Flag - the Flag of the United States of America. Something has been bothering me, so I thought I might talk it over with you because it is about you and me.

I remember some people long ago lined up on both sides to the street to watch a parade and naturally, I was leading every parade - proudly waving in the breeze. When your Daddy saw me coming, he immediately removed his hat and placed it over his left shoulder so his hand was directly over his heart - Remember?

And you! I remember you standing there straight as a soldier. You didn't have a hat, but you were giving the correct salute - remember little sister? Not to be outdone - she was saluting the same as you - with her right hand over her heart. Remember?

What happened? I am still the same old Flag. Oh, I have a few more stars since you were a boy. A lot more blood has been shed since those parades of long ago. But now I don't feel as proud as I used to. When I come down your street, you stand there with your hands in your pockets and I may get a small glance and then - you look away. Then I see the children running around and shouting; they don't seem to know who I am. I saw one man take off his hat, then look around. He didn't see anyone else with their hats off, so he quickly put it back on. Is it a sin to be patriotic anymore?

Have you forgotten what I stand for and where I have been - Guadal Canal - Korea - and now - Vietnam. Take a look at the Memorial Honor Roll sometime - of those who never came back to keep this Republic free; when you salute me, you are actually saluting them.

Well, it will not be too long until I will be coming down your street again. So when you see me, stand straight, place your right hand over your heart, and I will salute you by waving back. I will know that you remember.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page