top of page

Earth Day


Earth Day is this Sunday, but shouldn't every day be "Earth Day?" There was no such thing as Earth Day when I was growing up. I remember going camping as a kid and before we could set up camp, it was my job to clean up the campsite of the garbage left behind by others. It felt good to me to have a clean camp and I couldn't understand why people choose to litter. I continue to do this today and I must sadly say that in my fifty plus years, I have only come upon a clean campsite ONCE. Isn't that sad?

It all boils down to caring. In fact, ALL problems boil down to caring, in my humble opinion.

There are several "garbage" islands floating in our seas getting bigger by the day. WHY? There is a very simple answer to this problem: build an incinerator on a ship and burn it up. Build three! Think of the jobs that could be created and the revenue.

The issue could be solved so easily and so simply. People complicate things. Greatly. Nature is simple and will re-new itself, but we could help nature by giving a whit and clean up after ourselves without brushing the problem off on someone or something else. Personal responsibility has all but disappeared these days.

So let's get back to real common sense. Teach personal responsibility. There ARE consequences to every choice we make. We must stop blaming everything and everyone for the way we are or the situations we find ourselves in. To paraphrase a wise songwriter, let's look in the mirror and make that change today. >^,,^<

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page