top of page

Happy St. Patrick's Day


This week we celebrate Irish roots with St. Patrick's Day. Another good reason for a get together with family and friends. Sharing simple moments like these are treasure-able and memorable. Sure, there will always be family squabbles, but we're still family. The food, the bonding with cousins and other extended family as well as grandparents are wonderful memory makers.

We also just returned to Daylight Savings Time - how do you feel about that? For me, the first day is the hardest and I whine about it every year. I recently saw a headline claiming that DST was 100 years old this year. How, I wondered? I'm old, but I'm not that old! I remember as a young school girl when President Nixon put this in place. I remember walking to the school bus in the dark and a big ruckus from parents over this new thing. So I googled it and here's what came up:

"In 1917, Australia and Newfoundland began saving daylight. The plan was not formally adopted in the U.S. until 1918. 'An Act to preserve daylight and provide standard time for the United States' was enacted on March 19, 1918."

I had to laugh at the words "began saving daylight." How on earth do you "save" daylight and how would one get it back when wanted? Funny, I seriously don't recall using DST until I was in middle school. Anyway, complaining does absolutely no good and just wastes precious time.

We are given a certain number of days here on this earth and they are best spent with family and friends and loving others. Let's live with no regrets that we didn't spend more time with family while we are here. >^,,^<


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page