top of page

Human Relations #6


Human Relations Rule #6: Be genuinely interested in people. You can learn to like everybody if you try.

Wait! I can hear the "buts" out there. I know, I know, there are some people who are just impossible to be around. For me, it's those that aren't who they pretend to be. In public, they seem sweet, helpful, kind, fun to be around, and generally easy to get along with. Then get them behind closed doors for a time and their true self emerges; selfish, hard to please, unkind, full of lies and even back stabbing. I know a handful of people like this and fortunately, they are only a handful. I have tried, endlessly, to find at least one good thing about these people. To date, I have not been successful, however, that is not something to dwell on. I think there will always be a select few that are extremely difficult to like on any level.

Most people are easy going and it is fun to get to know new people. Those kinds of folks are easy to be genuinely interested in, especially when you find out you have similar likes and shared activities. I think the point of this rule, though, is simply to connect with others. Look them in the eye when speaking with them without daydreaming about other things while they are talking. Be interested in the conversation. Ignore that cell phone and make Face Time REAL face time. Forget the electronics and connect with those you interact with, with a smile and focus on them. That is what we all desire, to be heard, so it is necessary to treat others how we would like to be treated.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page