top of page

Human Relations Rule #3


The third rule of human relations is this: Call people by name. The sweetest music to anyone's ears is the sound of his name.

This is so true. I like to hear people call me by my name and I'm sure you do as well. I try to remember people's name when I meet them, but sometimes I fail. I recognize their face, but their name escapes me at the moment. Believe me, people notice when you don't remember their name. I will struggle paying attention to the actual conversation, if I'm trying to recall their name. Once I get it, I will say their name in a sentence to help cement it in my brain. I have noticed that the person I'm speaking with will actually smile as soon as I say their name. If it doesn't reach their lips, it certainly reaches their eyes and the eyes are the windows to our souls.

I have also learned that by saying the person's name, I gain respect from them for remembering them. It makes the connection more personal. After all, we all want to feel connected to each other, right? So smile, say the person's name when speaking to them and look them in the eye and I guarantee the conversation will be much more enjoyablefor both parties.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page