top of page

The 10 Rules of Being Human


Greetings and Happy New Year! Are you the type that makes New Year's resolutions? I used to, but as life has gone on, I would be down on myself or not holding true to them. In my defense, I created a list of resolutions. Then I began only making ONE resolution each year and my criteria was that it was attainable and doable. Once I did that and sustained it for the whole month of January, I began to be successful in keeping my resolutions which, in turn, boosted my self-esteem.

This year, I have decided to focus on being positive, no matter what the circumstances may seem. I ran across a yellowed page while cleaning out a file. It was The Ten Commandments of Human Relations, by Robert G. Lee, a Baptist minister.

They are so good, I thought I'd share one each week for the next ten weeks. If people could actually treat each other with these simple suggestions, this would be a better world. And if you want to see change in the world, you have to start with yourself. So, here I go...

Rule #1: Speak to people. There is nothing as nice as a cheerful word of greeting.

Wouldn't you agree? Isn't that how you would like people to treat you? Sure it is! No one likes to run into the grump at the post office who lets the door slam on you while noticing the fact that you're carrying an armload of boxes to mail off. Smile anyway and bite that sarcastic retort that is on the tip of the tongue. Who knows, maybe your smile and cheerful greeting changes that grumpy person's day (who in turn, passes the simple kindness on to the next guy)? Change starts with ourselves. And as the saying goes, what you put out in this world comes back to you. Make it good stuff, regardless of how you might be feeling at the moment. Feelings are fickle and change frequently.

I hope you all have a very blessed 2018!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page