top of page

On Being Kind


Being treated kindly is what we all want and truly need. But is that how we actually treat others? In the busy rush of the season, it is easy to ignore the simple, kind manners we were taught as young children. Saying things like, "please" and "thank you" should be automatic for us.

In recent years, I have noticed how many young adults no longer say these things. In my opinion, people have become very rude and self-centered as well as quite entitled. I am surprised, and secretly pleased, when I hear these simple phrases, especially when they come out of the mouths of younger generations. It is especially refreshing to watch young mothers not allowing their children to behave badly in public. The following is a good example.

My husband and I like to watch cooking shows. There is one in particular we like, but are close to deleting the timer for it simply because the host refuses to not talk with food in his mouth. We are shocked that the producers of the show allow this kind of behavior to actually air. To me, this is absolutely unacceptable. I tweeted the host (and tagged the show), and asked him if he was born in a barn. His response? That he was! I believe the producers might have noticed as in more recent episodes, the camera goes directly to the food and not on the host. If you're on tv, you're an example and you never know who's watching. Manners - use them, please.

Being kind is simply using your manners, it's easy and best of all, it's free! You can make somebody's day by holding the door open or simply smiling and saying "hello." I heard a phrase last week I feel is truly important to pass on: Treat others better than you treat yourself!

>^,,^<

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page