top of page

Giving Thanks


Thanksgiving is one of those special times of year when families gather together and share a really big meal, but more importantly, share each other and create memories for all who come. If you have a place to go for this special meal with your family, you are blessed indeed. For others, this is a very difficult time of year to get through.

I live far away from my family and do not get the opportunity to be with them during this special time of year. My husband and I cook a big meal, talk about all the Thanksgivings we've shared with our families and the memories we have of our children during the holidays. We love having all the leftovers to eat for days and this year we have something new to look forward to: I've kept a notebook of each blessing we've received on a daily basis, and will go back and read them all to remind us we are indeed truly blessed. It's not that we don't realize we are blessed, we do. It's just been a super tough couple of years for us with him becoming disabled and not able to contribute to our monthly income. It is hard being trapped in the house and not even be able to go out into the woods like we used to. But, we wake up on the right side of the grass each day and are blessed with a roof, clothes on our back and food to eat.

There's been some good things about being stuck at home. We save fuel and we come up with some really tasty money saving meals I'm tempted to write a cookbook about. I think that has been the best part so far. Being older now, as well as trapped at home and being less physical, we desire to eat healthier. It is a challenge when so many things that are bad for you taste so good! I am very thankful my husband is a good cook. My waistline shows it in spite of my longer sessions on the treadmill.

I pray everyone has that family table to go to this Thanksgiving day. I pray harder for those who do not. If you know of someone who has no where to go, invite them over, you'll both be glad you did. If you are one who has no where to go, pick up the phone. The worst thing you can do is sit home alone. Maybe your friends don't know you'll be alone; I'm sure they wouldn't want you to be. If you prefer to be alone, that's ok too. Just remember to give thanks for all your blessings, no matter how small they might seem. After all, isn't it the little things that matter the most?

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page